LITHOSPHERE 2016 SYMPOSIUM

THE NINTH SYMPOSIUM ON STRUCTURE, COMPOSITION AND EVOLUTION OF THE LITHOSPHERE IN FENNOSCANDIA

November 9-11, 2016

Espoo, Finland



The National ILP Committee of Finland organizes the 9th Lithosphere Symposium at the Geological Survey of Finland, Espoo, during Nov. 9-11, 2016. The symposium is aimed for all geoscientists working with problems of the lithosphere in general, and the Fennoscandian lithosphere in particular. The language of the symposium is English.

The symposium has the following themes:

- Fennoscandian lithosphere from upper crust to asthenosphere
- Precambrian and Phanerozoic evolution of Fennoscandian lithosphere
- 3D and 4D modeling of lithosphere structures and evolution
- Orogenies: Structure, deformation, magmatism and metamorphosis
- Neotectonics, seismicity, deglaciation and postglacial uplift of Fennoscandia
- Natural resources and metallogeny
- Scientific drilling projects in Fennoscandia
- Seismic studies of lithosphere structures
- Short communications and briefings on new and on-going projects

The program will consist of oral and poster presentations and short communications. An abstract volume will be published in the Report Series of the Institute of Seismology, University of Helsinki (also available in the web). Student posters are evaluated and the best poster will be rewarded.

Detailed information on the program, registration, practicalities and instructions for writing the extended abstracts can be found at http://www.seismo.helsinki.fi/ilp/lito2016/.

Participation fee is $100 \in \text{(students } 30 \in \text{)}$ and it includes the symposium publication, the coffee/tea service during breaks and the ice-breaker party.

Deadlines:

Extended abstracts: October 6, 2016

Selection of presentations for orals and posters: Oct 13, 2016.

Registration: October 20, 2016

Meeting starts on November 9 (Wed) at 10:00 and ends on November 11 (Fri) at 15:00

Symposium venue: Geological Survey of Finland, Espoo (addr. Betonimiehenkuja 4, 02150 Espoo)

Organizing committee:

Ilmo Kukkonen, University of Helsinki (<u>ilmo.kukkonen@helsinki.fi</u>), Olav Eklund, Åbo Akademi (<u>olav.eklund@abo.fi</u>), Suvi Heinonen, Geological Survey of Finland (<u>suvi.heinonen@gtk.fi</u>), Fredrik Karell, Geological Survey of Finland (<u>Fredrik.karell@gtk.fi</u>), Timo Tiira, University of Helsinki (<u>timo.tiira@helsinki.fi</u>), Arto Luttinen, University of Helsinki (<u>arto.luttinen@helsinki.fi</u>), Juha-Pekka Lunkka University of Oulu (juha.pekka.lunkka@oulu.fi)